Track of the Day: “That’s What I Like” by Bruno Mars

       Bruno Mars’ latest hit “That’s What I Like” wasn’t something I thought I liked… at first.

       The video release for it came out recently and showed up in my Recommended Videos on YouTube, and I was curious. While I wasn’t as big of a fan of Mars’ latest hit “24K Magic,” I did enjoy a lot of his older stuff. I’m not even sure why “24K Magic” didn’t do the trick for me. “Uptown Funk” sure did – even when I thought I was sick of that song playing on the radio so much, I’d find myself singing along every time anyways. But by the second time I had heard “24K Magic,” I’d felt like I’d already heard it too much; maybe it’s because that track has more of a hip-hop backdrop than a smooth funk sound leading Mars’ voice along.

       “That’s What I Like” seems to represent Mars returning to his roots a bit more, though. Initially the lyrics had put me off of the song. Once I notice a song is purely about someone showing off how much money they have, I tend to cringe, especially when it’s to try and “impress” a woman:

“I got a condo in Manhattan / Baby girl, what’s hatnin’? / You and your ass invited / So gon’ and get to clappin’”

       However, my view changed when I was out at a bar and the song began to play on the radio. I recognized it already, but this time got into it, focusing on the light-hearted beat that’s reminiscent of Mars’ older, smoother funk sound, and realizing the light-heartedness of the lyrics overall.

       Now, I can’t get it out of my head. The chorus is on repeat like a backtrack in my brain.

“Lucky for you, that’s what I like, that’s what I like”

If you’re a fan of Bruno Mars and catchy tunes at all, I’d recommend checking out “That’s What I Like!”

Leave a Reply

